Click here to buy Pulpit Rock wine on
Click here for more information about our Wine & Snack Bar
Join Us on Facebook
Swartland Wine Route
Riebeek Valley Cycle Tours
Michelangelo International Wine Awards 2006
published on:

The Michelangelo International Wine Awards, widely regarded as one of the wine competitions with the most credibility in South Africa, announced the results of the 10th annual competition at a gala function at Spier in Stellenbosch on Saturday, 16 September 2006.

The record number of 1316 entries collected a total of 398 medals for 170 producers of which 15 were Double Gold, 143 Gold and 240 Silver. In addition, six trophies were awarded. In accordance with the rules of the Michelangelo International Wine Awards a maximum of 30% of the entries may be awarded a medal which adds to the prestige of a wine bearing a Michelangelo medal.

The Shiraz class attracted the most entries, namely 167 of which 67 were crowned with medals. The Cabernet Sauvignon class attracted 136 of which 39 received medals. This was followed by Pinotage with 83 entries and 32 medals. Sauvignon Blanc topped the white wine entries with 145 entries and a total of 32 medals, followed by 98 Chardonnay entries of which 27 were awarded medals.

Graham Beck's The Ridge Syrah 2002 was awarded the Winprint Grand Prix Trophy. This wine was described by the judges as "very concentrated with intense black currant fruit and complex, spicy overtones; great varietal expression; ripe, firm tannins with a very long aftertaste. A modern-styled wine – powerful and chunky".

The runner's up award went to De Krans Estate from Calitzdorp for their Cape Tawny (Port). The Sue van Wyk Pinotage Trophy was clinched by Swartland's Pulpit Rock Pinotage 2004 whilst Laibach's The Ladybird 2004, a red blend, was awarded the Organic Trophy. The Good Taste Garagiste trophy went to Hofstraat's Renosterbos Shiraz 2005.  The inaugural Brandy Trophy went to Backsberg for the Sydney Back Ten Year Old Brandy.

Local liquor giant Distell, represented by Fleur du Cap and Nederburg wines, walked away with two Double Gold and 14 Gold medals. Nederburg won a Double Gold for the Noble Late Harvest 2005 as well as eight gold medals whereas Fleur du Cap received a Double Gold medal for its Semillon Unfiltered 2005 and also a further six Gold medals.

The other Double Gold Medal winners were Avondale (Julia 2003) Cape Point Vineyards (Semillon 2005), De Krans (Cape Tawny non-vintage), Diemersdal (Chardonnay Reserve 2005), Graham Beck Wines (The Ridge Syrah 2002), Hidden Valley Wines (Pinotage 2004), Kaapzicht Estate (Shiraz 2004), Monterosso Estate (Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2003), Nitida Cellars (Pinotage 2005), Pulpit Rock Winery (Pinotage 2004) Rooiberg Winery Red Muscadel 2004), Val de Vie Lifestyle Estate (Mourvèdre 2004) and Whalehaven Wines (Idiom 2004).

The private producer awarded the highest number of medals was Walker Bay's Raka with 9 medals: 5 Gold and 4 Silver medals. Following Raka was Badsberg Wine Cellar with a tally of 3 Gold and 6 Silver medals. 

A number of other wineries won three gold medals, namely Boland Kelder, DGB, Dornier and Middelvlei.

Unlike all the other South African wine competitions, the Michelangelo International Wine Awards, is judged by a panel consisting entirely of international judges. Besides Sue van Wyk, this year’s competition was judged by  Martha Harrison, Jacques Orhon (both from Canada), Emiliano Falsini (Italy), Freddie Grimwood (Portugal), Tony Allen (Great Britain), Robert Gorjak (Slovenia), Paul Robert Blom (Nederlands), Andreas Larsson (Sweden), Maria Katsoulis(Greece), Michel Blanc (France) and Timo Jokinen (Finland).

Tel: +27.224612025   Fax: +27.224612028   Email:  
P.O. Box 1, De Gift, Riebeek West, 7306, South Africa