Click here to buy Pulpit Rock wine on
Join Us on Facebook
Swartland Wine Route
Riebeek Valley Cycle Tours
Trophy and medal winners in Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2010
published on:

Achieving an Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show medal is considered a significant accolade by the local wine industry thanks to the intense scrutiny that each of the wine entry is subjected to.

All wines - usually entries total in the region of 1 000 wines - are judged 'blind' by a panel of reputed international and local judges, who are committed to revealing the best wines of the year for the benefit of the South African wine consumer.

Trophy Winners:
Tokara - Fairbairn Capital Trophy for Most Successful Producer 

Eagles' Nest Shiraz 2008 - British Airways Comair Trophy for Best Shiraz & Old Mutual Trophy for Best Red Wine Overall 

Flagstone Word of Mouth 2008 - Best Viognier & Old Mutual Trophy for Best White Wine Overall 

Pulpit Rock Reserve Chardonnay 2008  - Old Mutual Trophy for Discovery of the Show (Best Value)

Nuy White Muscadel 1988 - Best Dessert Wine, Museum Class 

Paul Cluver Chardonnay 2009 -  Miele Trophy for Best Chardonnay, Wooded 

Chamonix Reserve Chardonnay 2005 - Best Chardonnay, Museum Class, Wooded

Tokara Director's Reserve White 2008 - Grande Roche Trophy for Best White Blend, Wooded 

Cape Point Isliedh 2006 Best White Blend - Museum Class, Wooded 

Klein Constantia Rhine Riesling 2009 - Just Riesling Trophy for Best Riesling 

KWV The Mentors Semillon 2009 - Best Semillon 

Cape Point Semillon 2005 Best Semillon, Museum Class 

Neil Ellis Woolworths Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot Reserve 2007 - Riedel Trophy for Best Bordeaux-style Red Blend

Stark-Condé Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 - American Express Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon 

Tokara Cabernet Sauvignon 2001 - Best Cabernet Sauvignon, Museum Class 

Tokara Pinotage 2007 - Best Pinotage 

Cederberg Sauvignon Blanc 2009 Best Sauvignon Blanc, Unwooded 

Cape Point Sauvignon Blanc 2006 Best Sauvignon Blanc - Museum Class, Unwooded 

Rijk's Chenin Blanc With a Touch of Oak 2009 - Harold Eedes Trophy for Best Chenin Blanc 

Anura Brut 2008 - Best Sparkling Wine 

Chamonix Reserve Pinot Noir 2008 - Best Pinot Noir 

Feiteiras Verdelho 2009 - Best Niche White Variety 

Vrede en Lust Mocholate Malbec 2009 - Best Malbec 

Kaapzicht Steytler Vision 2006 -  Best Pinotage-based Red Blend

Click here to view the full results.

Tel: +27.224612025   Fax: +27.224612028   Email:  
P.O. Box 1, De Gift, Riebeek West, 7306, South Africa